The restore-only mode is a way to disable data backup options on a computer where a backup device is installed. This is done to prevent unwanted backups in cases like these:

  • When your computer has failed and it is necessary to recover data from it to a new location.

  • When you want to have an up-to-date copy of all necessary data instantly available on another computer.

During the restore-only mode the Backup tab is absent from the Backup Manager. The options on the Restore tab are updated automatically after each new backup session on the source computer.

While you are in the restore-only mode, you can restore data in either of the following ways:

  • On request (one-time restores)

  • By enabling automatic synchronization with the source computer (the continuous restore mode)


The feature is available on all of the supported operating systems. It requires 2 computers:

  1. A source computer (the one that the data has been backed up on).

  2. A target computer (where you want to recover the data).

Enabling the restore-only mode

Option 1: During installation

Install the Backup Manager to the target computer using the same device name, password and security code that are used on the source computer. You will get a message offering to enable the restore-only mode. Click Restore-only to complete the installation.

Option 2: After installation

It is also possible to switch to the restore-only mode after the installation.

  1. Open the config.ini file (more about config.ini).

  2. Enter ReadOnlyMode=1 to the [General] section as shown in the example below.


  1. (optional) Restart the BackupFP (a process associated with the Backup Manager). Use the Services Console on Windows. On Mac OS X, start the Terminal and run the following commands:

sudo launchctl unload -w /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.cloudbackup.mxb.BackupFP.plist
sudo launchctl load -w /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.cloudbackup.mxb.BackupFP.plist

Disabling the restore-only mode

Option 1: Using the notification ribbon

As soon as the restore-only mode is enabled, you will see a notification under the main menu. To disable the restore-only mode, click the Switch to standard mode button on the notification. This has been possible starting from version 15.8 (released in August 2015).

Option 2: Through config.ini

If you use an older version of the Backup Manager (prior to 15.8), you should open the config.ini file and set the RestoreOnlyMode parameter to 0. Hold on till the changes are applied automatically (this usually takes about 15 minutes) or restart the BackupFP to let them take effect immediately.

Option 3: By reinstalling the device

One more way to exit the restore-only mode is by re-installing the Backup Manager. When you see the message offering you to enable the restore-only mode, click to continue with the regular backup and restore mode.